Sunday, July 27, 2008

Day 44: Cinque Terre

so after a night of partying, M and i both hungover and still slightly drunk went to Cinque Terre, which is a famous for the 5 towns located on the sea side, with a path connected all 5 towns. It is has wonderful mountains, and the sea and country sides!!









So yes we did all of the above!!


This is a place on the path that has a bunch of locks on a bar, because a movie that came out in 2006 in Roma, Italy that had the theme that if you are in love you are to come to this place and place a lock, and both of the people have the key. So it is like their love is locked forever. Super Cheesy but cute nonetheless!


And we ate at this little cute restaurant and as we ate, this wonderful band came and played harmoneous tunes on the accordian and clarinet!! Perfettooo!!!



Then we swam at the sea side!! And i must say i am getting better with my swimming, i may even continue at CCNY!!! SYKE!!hahaah that was funny though, you really probably believed me for a hott second there, hehe.

okay i look super busted in this pic, but ignore that just enjoy the background, and remember some other time when i was gorgeous! lol.

Okay so here is a funny story: while i was pseudo-swimming and M was sleeping on the shore side the big clock RANNNGG in her ears and woke her up. So i see M waving to me from the shore and i am like "hi yeah i am swimming," then i began to understand the urgency in her face when i realized that i needed to come back.

When i got back to shore M told me that our train was leaving in 5 minutes, so i ran soaked through the countryside in my bikini (good thing i am soo sexy i could pull that off, hheehe) and we got to the train station, only to find out that it was late. Mamamia!

Then at that point we decided to spend more time at the beach instead of going to Monterrosso (the last of the 5 towns) and we walked back to the beach.

After sleeping on the beach for another hour we went back to the train just to find out that it didnt exist. We panicked and then M who is Italian figured out that we go to Monterrosso and catch the local train back to Genoa. When we got to M's house we washed off the salt and cooked a little dinner.

Then we went to the Biggest Concert in Italy GOA BOA, with the main feature Manu Chao, and another group called ex-otago (www.myspace.com/exotago) who is currently featured on MTV. It was soo hott, i mean i felt at home i was surrounded by a bunch of Italian Rastafarians and NuWavers wearing there "I heart Uffie" T-shirts and thift shop converses, and it was sooooo AMAZING!!!!

We left the concert at like 3 in the morning, and it still wasnt over, but i think i was a little high from all the second hand weed smoke, (cough cough). Manu Chao didnt reach until like 1 in the morning, but the opening acts were awesome, and M's bf the DJ was one of the opening acts!! Shout Outs to Full Clip Crew!!



well Buona Notte.

Day 43: Michi's Birthday!!!

So yes "M" was turning the big 22 this Sunday, and her bf is a big Genovese DJ but he could be straight from Southside Queens, he know more about hip-hop than me. Alora, we had a party in her honour at the hottesst sea side Club in Liguria called Cola Loca. So I must say her bf can DJ one hell of a party!!! And as we say here in Genoa "That was a 'Madd Hott' party" he played Reggae and all the NY jams for me all night because he knew i was there YEAHHH!!!



And you know that after 2 of these strong ass Italian drinks (literally there was no sour no ice, no nothing just liquor, it is called grappa if you ever are in the region) i was done!! As you can see from me and "A" distant smiles!!

Party!!



Anyways the night ended with M jumping into the sea side in the freezing cold water, and some Austrian dude tryna kiss me, notice that i said TRYING TO!! TRYING TO!!






Thus exemplifying that it didn't happen, i was drunk but i wasn't stupid, i don't even know that dude. HAHA!!





This was a brazilian dude that was very friendly with everybody, very...




All i know is that the next morning i was soooo feeling the effects!!
ciao.

Day 41-42: When in Rome, do as the Romans do!!

...and so i did. yes slendiferously all roads lead to Rome, even the one that i had planned to go to Firenze, quickly changed to Rome. Yes...i thought about it and just like that changed all my plans and went to Rome instead. And i must say it was a fantastical adventure.
I got up at 5 in the morning and headed over to Genoa Piazza Principe train station and made my merry way to Rome Centrale train station. After a 5 hour train ride (and leg cramps that probably indicated the beggining processes of deep venous thrombosus) i checked into my hotel, (btw if you are in the Rome area please do stay at the Rome Termini Hotel, it is just sooo divine!!!) and then began my hot step on down the cobble stone road of Via Cavour to the Collesseum.




When i reached i got gullable and took one of those over priced guided tours, but it was soo worth it to hear the history and skip that long ass line!!! sukkasss!!!

Haha! yes but i did get stuck with someone as just ancient as the structure who gave the tour, and i swear he just went on and on and on about every little detail, i could give a tour by now. 23 euros just to see GRN[pea] walk with a microphone and talk monotonously about what the penis on the wall means. No lie though, there was seriously a amateurly drawn picture of a penis drawn on the wall, and the tour guide said directed lost travelers which way the exit was. I just thought they drew it because it was hilarious!!!

btw, Antifa!!! all day every day!!! [google it], and no i did not write this.
Then after some flicks and a little "snack-a-dooddlle" and went to Palatine, which is one of the most important of the 7 hills of Rome. On that hill they built a bunch of Palaces and i actually got to stand where all the Roman Emperors once had their reigning seat. NYCE!!!
this was the actual spot where the Roman Emperor had his reigning seat for centuries, and when you say anything it just echooeess for miles, so weird because there are no wallss, hmmmm??? is it magic

Then after i walked down Via dei fori Imperiali, where all of the Forums were those of Augustus and Ceasar. Without a moment to waste i shimmied my way to Piazza Venezia, gorgeous structure, and climbed to the top as usual.


Then even though my feet were throbbing, and i felt like all 10 of my hot red painted toenails were gonna fall off, i hobbled painfully over to the Pantheon[ beautiful once more] , but the most amazing part was that i got a chance to sit down...YESSIRR!! and please believe that i took off my shoes and let my little piglets breathe.

Then after i went to Piazza Novona, and then i bought myself a genuine leather italian handbag :) and then after that little shopping booster i dragged my aching feet over to Fontana di Trevi, which was wayyyyyyyyy too crowded for me to take in.
but i managed to crop the crowd out, hehe!!

Then the hunger pains started and i had to find me a spot to get some food, so i had dinner - me and my new bag together. Then after slowly walking back to my hotel on Via Cavour i was "knocked the fook out" on my bed, in my room with the aira condizionata on full blast. Later that night i awoke and watched the Oblong family in Italian on my flat screen TV and then MTV Italy and fell back asleep.


Next day.


I woke up bright and early had complimentary breakfast and this time took the Metro (cause my feet were still aching) to the Vatican City. Luckily enough for me it was soo early that the moon was still in the sky....

yes i have pure talent, i know!! but the way the sun shone into the church just illuminated the gorgeousness of the elaborate structure.

the devote Catholics!
so i had no lines, no crowd and i just absorbed all of the marble and beauty, saw a piece of Jesus' cross and Peter's grave. Then i went to the Sistene Chapel and the Vatican Musuem. And i saw Raphael and Micheangelo paintings.






Then i went to Castel St. Angelo, and took the metro to the Spanish steps. After all of that i went back to the train station and headed back to Genoa.


That my friend is how you see all of Rome in less that 48 hours.

Sunday, July 20, 2008

Day 37-38: Preparation for Firenze...

...so this weekend was not as eventful, i just did some food shopping, and stayed like a mole in my little crawl space called a dorm room, and planned my mid-week getaway to Florence for next week.

So i have successfully found a cheap place to stay and a daily log of "things-to-do" courtest of the infamous NYTimes...which has written an wonderful article that deliniates activities for every hour, for a 36 hour stay in Florence which i will try my best to adhere to.

so this is how i spent most of my weekend...


on the phone, but still lookin fly!!!


ciao.

Day 35-36: La Fatica Centrale..

...so yes thursday was preparation day so i seldom saw daylight as i worked deligently to put the finished touches on my presentation..

but Friday...oh, Friday was my day honey. Let me tell you how fly my presentation was. not only was it complete with a widescreen view of all my data and a "classroom experience", but yes I GRN[pea], put that joint in Italian.


Yes indeed, i sure did, and yes i will take my bow right now......(bowing)


okay i am done flattering myself, but yes at some twilight hour of the night i got the strange notion to actually translate my entire presenation into Italian to make it easier for my professor and colleagues to understand, and give me some bonus points.


Be jealous be very jealous!!!!


mmmwwhahhhahhhaaa!


ciao.

Day 33-34: Doing Stuff...

so when i came back from Nervi, i was exhausted and i went to my dorm room and proceeded to watch my favorite "lovemuffin" on http://www.lovebscott.com, cause it was definitely "tap your neighbor tuesday," so i had to put you on to some splendiferous experiences.

then wednesday, well since i spent the previous day doing absolutely nothing but taking flicks on the beach, i had to compile all of my information from the past month into a charts and a powerpoint presentation, uggghh!!! frustration is not even the word, but before noon i was done, and i went to the local cafe, for nutellino and panino con arrosto.

then mid-day i went home, and that night i went out to dinner with "M" and her family. they are such sweet people, and the entire dinner was created with me in mind. (blushing) everything was hand made, from the ravioli with olive oil, and the freshly baked bread, and the homemade wine, and the tomatoes stuffed with seasons, and then salad cake, and then some homemade cheeses dipped in homemade honey.


I mean when i say i was stuffed, i felt like an over-stuffed Build-A-Bear complete with the fat man outfit of the loosely fitting "moo-moo" to accomodate the growing belly.


[On a side note, on my stay here i have gained a significant amount of weight to the point where all of the jeans i brought from home no longer fit, seriously! i have to wear shorts and dresses in the meantime and pray i lose the weight when i get back home]


Then after dinner "M" and her boyfriend who is a local DJ, who knows more about NY rap than i do, went to the local television station, primerocanale , which is the tallest building in Genoa with a total of 29 floors. So of course, we went straight to the top, and saw the city from a view that few get to experience....


It was amazing!!! Looks like the city is on fire!! ahhh!! hahah, just kidding.


then we headed home.


ciao.

Tuesday, July 15, 2008

Day 30-32: Concerts and Nervi...

...so after the cementary i went with Alessandro and Chiara to see his brother play at a local restaurant. His brother is wayyyy cute, and despite the crumbyness of my camera's sound, he sounded just like maroon 5 and the beatles songs that he sung, or maybe it was the beer that made it sound better, but anywho... he is the one of the left...

:)

and then monday was a stressful day at the lab, because i and "M" were removed from our lab mid-experiment because they want to use the EMG machine on patients for the next two days...

so i took this as an opportunity to take a holiday to Nervi, which i did today... it was wonderful i went along the Passigiata which is famous in Nervi, and took a lot of pictures...
this trip was much needed and i was very happy to be there :) this picture reminds of the MGMT-Electric Feel music video, that is why i like it :)
Now back to work, i have to present all my data on Friday on Powerpoint with charts and what not, boooo!!!
but at least i will have my memories to keep me content at night....

ciao.